Governors Vow Not To Pay Sh1.2 Billion Debt

  • The governors of Mombasa, Taita Taveta, Tana River and Kilifi Counties have vowed not to pay a debt of ¬†Sh1.2 billion to the Coast Water Services Board.

    The governors led by Taita Taveta Governor John Mruttu, have said the debt was inherited by their county governments from the previous municipal councils, Citizen News reports.

    According to the four governors the debt should be payed by the national government since the council governments were under their jurisdiction.

    The governors further claim that water supply was devolved to the counties yet the national government has not let go of the function which has in turn affected service delivery and water supply in the region.

    Image of mombasa