President Uhuru Kenyatta Declared Winner of Kenya's August 2017 Presidential Election

  • Incumbent President Uhuru Kenyatta has been declared the winner of the 2017 Presidential election.

    The announcement was made by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati at Bomas of Kenya on Friday evening.

    Kenyatta garnered 8,203,290 votes (54.27%) while his closest rival opposition leader Raila Odinga amassed 6,762,254 votes (44.74%).

    According to the IEBC data, 15,073,662 Kenyans turned out to vote representing a 78.91% turnout.

    The event was graced by various leaders including ambassadors, cabinet secretaries and other election observers.

    The 2017 Presidential election was closely contested and members of the opposition cried foul.

    Odinga's team claimed IEBC's system had been hacked and had their own version of results which showed that Odinga had emerged victorious.

    Ambassadors led by American Robert Godec praised the electoral process and stated that the will of the people had been respected.

    President Uhuru Kenyatta will serve his second term in office with his deputy William Ruto.   ©   2018   All Rights Reserved