2 NASA MPs Who Ignored Raila and Attended Uhuru's Parliament Address

  • By Miriam Musyoki on Tuesday, 12 September 2017 - 4:43pm
    rebellious pair
    File image of the National Assembly with few members courtesy
  • National Super Alliance (NASA) Members of Parliament on Tuesday made good on their threat to boycott the official opening of the 12th Parliament.

    As conveyed earlier by NASA co-principal Moses Wetangula, the lawmakers were not present in the House as a protest to what they termed an illegal meeting. 

    Webuye East MP Alfred Sambu and Hamisi MP Charles Gimose were the only members of the Opposition coalition present during President Uhuru Kenyatta's address.


    Mr Sambu was elected on an Amani National Congress (ANC) party ticket, which is led by NASA co-principal Musalia Mudavadi, while Gimose is from Moses Wetangula's Ford Kenya. 


    The Opposition parliamentarians attended a separate meeting held at the Kamukunji Grounds in Kibra where they were addressed by ODM party leader Raila Odinga.

    Mr Odinga's communications team had hinted that a major announcement would be made at the rally. The expected pronouncement was called the Kamukunji Declaration.

    Read More: Raila to Address MPs' Session

Kenyans.co.ke   ©   2018   All Rights Reserved