7 ODM Leaders Suspended After Defying Party Orders

  • Seven Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) Migori Members of County Assembly (MCAs) have been suspended from the National Super Alliance (NASA) parliamentary group after they defied the party's order.

    The seven nominated MCAs have ceased to hold office after they went against the party’s decision in the election of the County Assembly Speaker which was held on February 12.

    Migori parliamentary group chairman Abraham Kagali confirmed this action adding that they defied the party after they failed to vote for Boaz Okoth, who clinched the Speaker’s seat during the repeat election.

    He further stated that the seven lawmakers had been given 14 days to show cause why they should not be expelled from the party and consequently lose their seats.

    [caption caption="Migori County Assembly (Twitter)"][/caption]

    "We had a meeting as the NASA coalition and agreed to front the current Migori county assembly speaker Boaz Okoth.

    "The seven betrayed our decision, therefore, they have to face action from the coalition,” he stated.

    The High Court had ordered a repeat of the Speaker election after the disputed poll of Mr. Okoth in August last year was marred by chaos.

    Their suspension, was, however, condemned by Nominated MCA Caroline Okere who described it as intimidation of ODM nominated MCAs in Migori.

    Ms Okere called upon NASA's top leadership to intervene and address the matter.

    [caption caption="Migori Speaker Boaz Okoth (Twitter)"][/caption]

    Her sentiments were reiterated by MCA Jacky Gard who also questioned the criteria the parliamentary group chairman used to identify the seven NASA MCAs who did not vote as agreed.