NASA Closes in on Venue for Raila's Swearing-in

  • The National Super Alliance (NASA) has written letters to 11 counties requesting the governors to provide a venue for Opposition leader Raila Odinga's swearing-in ceremony.

    NASA settled on the counties based on the county assemblies that have already passed the motion for the People's Assembly.

    The 11 letters were addressed to: Governors Hassan Joho (Mombasa), Anyang’ Nyong’o (Kisumu), Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay), Kivutha Kibwana (Makueni), Okoth Obado (Migori), Wycliffe Oparanya (Kakamega), Wilber Ottichilo (Vihiga), Amason Kingi (Kilifi), Sospeter Ojaamong (Busia), Charity Ngilu (Kitui) and Cornel Rasanga (Siaya).

    "Your county having passed the People’s Assembly motion, the presidential inauguration team is requesting your office to provide a venue for this high-level event in your county," the letters read in part.

    [caption caption="NASA leader Raila Odinga during a past rally at Uhuru Park"][/caption]

    The Opposition coalition on Saturday sent out invitation cards to the event that is scheduled for Jamhuri Day without disclosing the venue for the event.

    The digital invitations read: "You are invited. Come witness the swearing-in of the people's President Raila Amollo Odinga on 12th December at 12 noon. Location to be communicated after vetting of RSVP."

    NASA also set up a seven-member team, chaired by economist David Ndii, to coordinate the activities of counties that have passed the People's Assembly motion.

    Mr Ndii was on Sunday arrested in Diani, Mombasa, and taken in for questioning on incitement charges.

    He was later released on bond according to instructions given by the Director of Public Prosecutions Keriako Tobiko.

    The NASA coalition has been adamant on the plan to ensure that Mr Odinga has been sworn in as the people's President and that he and his running mate, Kalonzo Musyoka, assume office with full powers.

    [caption caption="NASA leader Raila Odinga during the swearing-in of Mombasa Governor Ali Hassan Joho"][/caption]